The Hug of a Friend

“But I say to you who hear, love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” (Luke 6:27-28 NASB)

This is such a hard topic to write about. Our nature calls for hating when we’re hated, for hurting when we’re hurt, for cursing when we’re cursed, for mistreating when we’re mistreated. I think it’s a defense mechanism ingrained in us by the flesh. We respond by instinct, by an irrational desire for vengeance.

I’m blessed that God has given me a forgiving disposition though. Some even say that I’m too forgiving. Praise God that I am!

Way back… a lifetime ago, I had a very special childhood friend. We were friends through elementary, middle and high school. We were friends as each embarked in our adulthood. Somewhere along, our lives took a turn and we found ourselves in different places, separated by time and distance.  But as often we find in life, we came full circle to face what once was left behind. Our friendship was rekindled and we spent some time basking in this comfortable and familiar relationship, which this time, sadly came to an abrupt and painful end.

Betrayal. Disappointment. Pain.

But, love is so much stronger! Eventually the pain subsided and my ego found comfort in the Lord. I prayed for my dear friend, I prayed that I would have the chance to show that I didn’t harbor hate, that I wasn’t even mad.

We did not speak again for ten years. Count them – T E N years… and it was a miracle, an answered prayer, that we met again. The arms that warmly embraced me during our reunion were full of love and gratitude. I’ve been hugged many times in my life, but I will never forget the silent conversation which filled that magical moment.

All that to say that no matter how difficult it might be to forgive, to love, to pray and to bless those who have hurt us, even if we were not to find satisfaction and gratification in a reunion like the one described above, our loving Father is waiting for us to respond and awaits with open arms to bless and reward us as we obey and bring glory to His name.

Praise You Father, for giving me a forgiving heart. Help me as I struggle day-to-day to make this evident in the way I treat those who mistreat or hurt me. I pray for  A, J & E today – please bring them to Yourself and to a way of life which will honor and glorify You.

2 thoughts on “The Hug of a Friend

What do you think?