Counting My Blessings

“My whole being, praise the Lord and do not forget all his kindnesses.”
(Psalm 103:2)

Me, my beautiful daughter and my best friend: blessed just by being together!

I’ve tried, without success, to keep a gratitude journal at various times. It’s a simple idea: review your day as it comes to an end, and write down at least five things you’re grateful for. God is very generous towards us, but the many little daily blessings get overlooked in our desire to see big flashy ones. We need to be intentional in our daily walk to hear and see the good that comes our way, thanks to a kind and caring God.

Today I’ll share with you some of my blessings, a sampling of His kindnesses to me in the midst of my busy life:

1. Though I haven’t been able to share dinner with my husband these past couple of weeks (he’s temporarily working nights), we’re able to share breakfast before I head to work in the morning;
2. I have good and faithful friends;
3. I have been approved, with short notice, for a week leave to visit my parents, and especially my mother, who’s been going through hard emotional times;
4. My busy work days are smoother and lighter thanks to young volunteers who are eager to help; and
5. The icing on the cake: yesterday, my daughter who is away at college, called me just to tell me that she misses me.

Thank You Father for your many kindnesses. Help me to never forget, but especially remember them when things seem dark or hopeless. Praise You for Your love, patience and forgiveness.

2 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

What do you think?