Dessert

In the early morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house,
and went away to a secluded place, and was praying there.
(Mark 1:35 NASB)

If reading the Bible is the nourishment we need to survive, then spending time in prayer is the dessert. It is such a special privilege and responsibility to set aside our daily chores and distractions to seek the Lord in solitude.

In my search for the perfect time and place to spend time with God, I found that what works best for me is early morning, when I am all alone at home and the distractions of the day have not come knocking yet. I don’t think that it really matters where or when, but I do need to be intentional. It is so easy to want to sleep 15 more minutes, easy to watch TV instead, easy to do the house chores that so urgently need to be done. It’s just too easy to allow the noise and business of life get in the way.

When I spend time in prayer with God, pouring my heart to Him and allowing Him to breathe life into my day, everything just seems to go better, smoother. Even when it doesn’t, my attitude is markedly more positive and I am better equipped to handle whatever comes my way.

Father, thank You because when I talk to You, You listen. Thank You because You care enough to be available to me whenever I seek You. Help me to always make time in prayer with You a priority in my life.

4 thoughts on “Dessert

  1. Its so true i find prayer one of the hardest thing to discipline myself to do and when i do get around to doing im gratefull i did.

What do you think?