Nourishment

But He [Jesus] answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live on bread alone,
but on every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.'”
(Matthew 4:4 NASB)

I start my days by 1) having breakfast, and 2) reading my Bible. This morning ritual is of most importance to me, and the day I miss it, I feel a certain ache all day long. I can’t claim to have scores of verses memorized, but, every time I find myself in a bind, some pertinent and seemingly forgotten Scripture comes to mind. You hear it said that as the body needs nourishment, so does the spirit and mind. You might believe it’s just a cliché, but when you live it, you see the truth behind it. I’ve seen that nothing else can fill and satisfy me as well.

So many times I’ve wanted God to speak to me, but I was very slow to realize that He has lovingly put His message in writing for my benefit. I really don’t have to wonder what He wants for me and of me, it’s all in His Word. When I prayerfully read and consider His message, it becomes crystal clear. And… when I’ve done my reading and praying and might not yet understand, I go on. I know that He will open my eyes and ears when He sees I’m ready for His message.

Lord, always give me a hunger for Your Word. Help me to open my heart, ears and eyes daily to the messages You have for me, both in the Bible and hidden throughout my day.

6 thoughts on “Nourishment

  1. This is a really insightful post about the value of reading the Bible daily. I particularly enjoyed that you touched on the responsibility that we have to seek God’s will through study and reflection. This denotes a more mature approach to faith as opposed to asking God for a sign because we haven’t done our homework (something I used to do a lot.) Love your new blog. Blessings, Vivian

  2. I love how you showed that He will bring His word to mind, when we are in a bind . ..even if we don’t have it memorized! God bless you and thank you for encouraging us in His Word!

What do you think?