In the Dark

She will bear a Son; and you shall call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins.”
(Matthew 1:21)

How can it be – Jesus saves me from my sins!?

Though raised Catholic, I didn’t really know what it meant to be a Christian. Yes, I believed in God. Yes, I knew Jesus is His Son and that He died for my sins. Yes, I dutifully confessed my sins to a priest (sometimes). But knowledge does not equal salvation and confessions to a priest do not equal forgiveness.

It was a time in my life when I lived mostly for myself, not giving a second thought to my true convictions and beliefs. I honestly thought I was a good person and that’s what really mattered.  HA! I thought I lived in the light and suddenly found myself face to face with my true reality.

As often happens, a friend pointed my way to Jesus. The darkness of my world became evident in contract to the Light He offered me. Illuminated by this true Light, I saw myself for who I am: a sinful woman, unable to be good enough to secure my own salvation; unable to rid myself of the guilt which was a constant companion; unable to find peace in the turmoil we call life.

I was attracted to Jesus’ light, and since then have walked with Him, straying here and there, but by His constancy, His patience and love, never too far or for too long. He always calls me back and even in my rebellion I understand that without Him, I am nothing.

In Him, I have found salvation, love, hope, peace and forgiveness! My life looks so different under His Light!

Lord, thank you for Jesus. Jesus, thank you for your love, patience and persistence. Thank you for saving me from my sins.

What have you found in Jesus?

PS: Today I started a Bible reading plan called “Living Light in 25 Words.” (Check it out here.) Each day, for 31 days, I will be presented with one verse (approximately 25 words each) to concentrate and meditate on.

5 thoughts on “In the Dark

  1. No pressure to perform – but this is great – you will grow as you press the Lord for fresh revelation of His wonderful light. Thanks for jumping back in. Yay Greisy!

What do you think?