Promises

“Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on earthy.” (Genesis 9:16 NIV)

photoGod made a covenant to never destroy all living creatures with water as He did when He flooded the earth and only saved Noah and his family. The rainbow serves as a visual sign of this promise; but when we see a rainbow in the sky, though awed by its beauty, we very seldom remember what it stands for.

The Bible is full of promises, most of which have no visual sign to act as a reminder for us. Yet, it’s imperative that we get to know them, learn them and claim them for ourselves. Studying and meditating on God’s word is the only way to do so. I’m awful at memorizing Bible verses and passages, yet I have seen that by faithfully reading and studying, things stick. I might not be able to recite a verse on command but I find that when I need a word from the Lord, a seemingly forgotten and appropriate scripture comes to my mind.

As this New Year begins, I intend to spend more time in God’s word, not only reading, but contemplating, internalizing, and putting it into action in my life. If I need to, I will set visual reminders for myself of my covenant with God (stickies, notes on my calendar – whatever it takes).

Father, thank You for sending the rainbow after the rain as a sign of Your covenant with man. May it also be a reminder to us that You are faithful and fulfill each and every promise. Help me to always make spending time with You a priority, not only by studying Your word, but also in prayer. In Jesus’ name, amen.

One thought on “Promises

  1. Pingback: Claiming God’s Promises « God Speaking

What do you think?