The Right Path

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (Romans 12:2 NIV)

Transformation equals change. To renew is to restore, to begin again. As I read this, I am faced with the choice to hold on to my preconceptions, to my way of doing and seeing things, to the knowledge and beliefs I’ve accumulated through my life; or I can go back, clearing all notions that have been steadily ingrained in my mind and replacing them with the truth that I can only find in God and in His Word.

So often we struggle to discern God’s will for us and yet we fail to do what we must to be in touch with Him, with His ways. Spending time studying His Word and in conversation (prayer) with Him is the only way to renew our mind, and in doing so we learn to “test and approve,” to know whether we’re walking in His way or simply walking away.

Whenever I am faced with a decision that I try to reason into being right, whether because it feels right, or simply because there is really nothing wrong with it, I am reminded that it doesn’t matter if it “seems right” to me. In the end, it might just lead “to death” (Proverbs 14:12). Sometimes I can find the answer and know whether my decision is wrong by studying what God has to say about it in the Bible. Other times, it’s even more personal, because though it might not be something really wrong, it might simply be wrong for me and I will only learn of this by being in communion, through prayer, with Him who has the perfect plan and will for my life.

Lord, I want to walk in Your will for my life. I want to follow Your ways and always remain in the path You choose for me. Help me to hunger for your Word and help me to make time in prayer with you a priority in my life, a constant conversation with You. Praise you because You hear me and lead me.

4 thoughts on “The Right Path

  1. Just saw this post and your reference to Romans ‘be transformed by the renewing of your mind’, this made me think of Nina Simone as I was sure she had made reference to this. Found the song, its a live performance of ‘Wish I knew how it would feel to be free’. This is the link if you’re interested, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXPAGWHfd0Q comment at 4.56, ‘ Be transformed by the renewing of your mind, easy!, nothings gona get in my way (stands uo) ‘.

What do you think?